One Solution, No Solutions, Infinite Solutions

Today we solved special case equations that had one solution, no solutions, or infinite solutions.  I found Sarah’s Solving Special Case Equations which was awesome.  I used her worksheet as a warmup.  Just as happened in her class, the kids wanted to ask me all sorts of questions on the two problems that had so solution.  Many of them tried negative numbers, but they didn’t work.  But it was a great way to get them started thinking about equations and solutions.

Image

Then we did her amazing foldable, but I did type it up so the kids could just fill in what I needed them to.  Here it is: foldable

Image

After that, I modified a MAP Lesson Solving Linear Equations in One Variable into a sorting activity and added a piece for claims, evidence, and reasoning. Here it is: Solutions Sort

Solutions 4

This picture won’t cooperate- so turn your head!

On another note- here is why I love teaching middle school.  A student came in on Monday and placed a pumpkin on her desk.  I asked her what it was for and she replied, “decoration.”  Tuesday it turned into a pumpkin and corn, and by Wednesday it was this:

Solutions 3

Today is Thursday, so we will see what it turns into today!  Middle schoolers are so funny!

6 thoughts on “One Solution, No Solutions, Infinite Solutions

  1. Loving your blog! I got your comment on my sugar packet post, and it would be great to share with each other! I started a document this afternoon that I would love to share if I knew how to attach it to my blog. Email?

  2. Pingback: Day 74: Fractions and special case equations | 180 days of math post-its

Leave a comment