Transformations Project

As I posted before, my kids have been struggling with transformations, specifically rotations.  I created this project in the hopes that creating an actual template to move around as they transform would help them to understand it a little better.  Here are some of my favorite creations:

20130211-111833.jpg

20130211-112123.jpg

20130211-112107.jpg

20130211-112007.jpg

20130211-111933.jpg

The kids had to create a template on the coordiante plane, then start with it in the same three spots and translate it, reflect it, and rotate it around.  I loved this project!

Here are the instructions I gave for the project.

15 thoughts on “Transformations Project

  1. I would love to try this project with my classes. I am having trouble opening the instructions. Is there another way I can get them?

    • I would love the instructions will you please send them to me. I’m having trouble seeing the all the pages. Thank you.

  2. This is really great! I am having trouble downloading your instructions. Would you be able to email them or post as a PDF on your blog? Thanks!

  3. This is a really great project and would love to do it with my students!! Would you be able to email me or post a pdf of the instructions to your blog? I am having trouble viewing them from your link. Thanks!

  4. Pingback: The Math Experiment Begins | themathexperiment

Leave a Reply

