Test Review

I did this activity from Amy over at square root of negative one teach math for my test review this week.  It was so awesome!  I created the activity and then I told the special ed teacher what we were doing and as I was explaining it I realized exactly how chaotic it sounded!  All of the kids… WALKING AROUND THE ROOM?  TALKING??

I created 8 stations and divided the kids into groups of 3-4 to rotate through the stations checking their answers on the next problem as they went.  Then when things were done we went over any questions they had. 

20130123-111532.jpg

When they finished early at a station, they worked on the writing prompt that I gave them.  I am trying to include more writing in my class to get the kids used to how much writing will be on the upcoming common core assessments.  I started off with something pretty simple (or so I thought) this time and just had them solve a problem and explain why the answer made sense.  The problem was a percent of change problem- Find the percent of change from 30 to 15.  So the basic explanation was the answer (50% decrease) makes sense because 15 is half of 30, and 50% is equal to a half.  Many kids did really well on this, but several struggled with the difference between explaining why the answer made sense and telling me how they did the problem.  This is what I plan to work on next!

Leave a Reply

