If the World Were a Village Continued…

So today our assistant principal was in my room and was asking the students about the project. Shout out to H if you are reading this 🙂  She asked one of the students what book this was based on and he responded, “If I Were a Village…” As I corrected him, the stars aligned and I was inspired.

If I changed it to if I were a village, we can extend the project to include fractions, decimals, and percents!

When I continued to think about what I wanted the kids to work on for this next part of the project, I was reminded of these infographics that I saw in my original if the world were a village research.

So Global Man was born:

Students will estimate the area of the man, convert their data from the orignial project to fractions, decimals, and percents, then color in the correct number of squares in Global Man!

Here is the project!

 

10 thoughts on “If the World Were a Village Continued…

  1. This is such an amazing project. Thank you so much for sharing – I can’t wait to start this with my classes 🙂 How many hours has your class worked on this?

    Also, would you be willing to post the project in word form so it can be translated as I teach French Immersion students.

    • So glad to hear you will be using it! Let me know how it goes! We have been working on it for just over 2 weeks, with 75 minute periods, but we definitely have not been working for the entire 75 minutes just on this. We are getting to the point where we are ready to finish, hopefully on Monday.

      Do you mean into Microsoft Word format? Or something else? I am happy to email it to you if that is easier.

  2. Love love love this project. Hoping it will inspire my kids to think beyond themselves and make a difference, somehow, in their world. Could you PLEASE send me the packet by email? Thank you for sharing! jgtollette@satx.rr.com

Leave a Reply

