If the World Were a Village Introduction

Phew.  I just finished something that may be the biggest school project I have ever worked on.  I received the book If the World Were a Village by David J. Smith from my husband for Christmas.  I had heard of it and thought it was pretty cool.  I read it, then it sat on my shelf full of big plans for the future.  As I tried to plan what I wanted to do for my upcoming proportions unit, I found myself uninspired by the things I have done in the past.  Then I remembered this book and thought it would be cool to do something with the book for this unit.  I searched around and found a few people who had done a few things about the book, but nothing that was exactly what I was looking for.  So I started with a few ideas that I saw online and added what I had been thinking of doing with the book… then it grew… and grew… and grew into this insanely huge project that I have devoted every spare minute of the past week to.  I am proud of it, I am excited for it, I am nervous.  I have not done anything like this in the past.  I have no idea if it will totally flop or be the coolest thing I have ever done.  Stay tuned as I begin the project this week and update you on my progress!

In the meantime, I will attach the huge document containing every single thing I plan to do for this book.  Most of it is this huge project I have planned, but there are many pieces to the project, along with a few extra activities.  The idea for the hundreds chart came from Sara’s TPT page, but is a free activity.  Alisan @G8rAli was kind enough to email me what she has put together using technology, along with several other proportions ideas that I am so excited to look at next.  Instead of using her idea of using the easel.ly site (which I loved!) I changed it to creating a pictograph in Microsoft Excel since my kids have rarely used this program.  I also typed up a page that attempts to explain what my thoughts were for each page I created.  EDIT:  I totally forgot to give credit for the drawing portion!  I got the idea from Math-N-Spire here, but changed it from comics to meet my needs for this project.

Definitely buy the book because it is awesome.

Wish me luck as we get started on this project this week!

Here it is!!

 

Thoughts behind what I did

34 thoughts on “If the World Were a Village Introduction

  1. Pingback: If the World Were a Village Project | thenumbertwentyone

  2. I did some activities with my kids back in 2006 that were from acblack.com/globalvillage but the page no longer exists. Now, as an IB Coordinator, I am going to borrow from your lessons for our whole school. Awesome! Thank you.

  3. This is amazing. I’m having trouble downloading your packet with all of the materials—-any way I can request a PDF version? 🙂

  4. I received this book during a professional development conference this summer. I loved the book, but I wasn’t really sure how I would incorporate it in my classroom. I was so excited to see this because I teach 7th grade math and will be starting proportions after Thanksgiving. I would love the pdf version as well.

  5. I just bought this book along with If America Were a Village (I teach 5th grade) and am so excited to take a look at your lesson while I’m on Spring Break. I think I’d like to incorporate it into the final project of the year. Would you please email me the file if you have time? I am also having trouble downloading it. Thank you so much for creating this and sharing it! Kindly,
    Tamara McCoy
    tmccoy@bsd.k12.ca.us

  6. I am very interested in your information as well. I teach a statistics class and think this will be a good intro. I need a PDF version also. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Hi- would love to see details of your project.. We have just started our journey as a rights respecting school and we already use this book in our global citezenship lessons.. Always looking for more lesson activities! Please could you email me a PDF version at julierayner36@gmail.com.
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

