Estimation180 Funny Story

Totally forgot to talk about this awesome story when I posted about Estimation180 last night.  My kids came in on Thursday to find this estimation180 on the board:

I know the picture is a little dark, but it is a picture of Mr. Stadel and his son.  His question is, “What is my son’s height?”

Keep the following things in mind:

1. We did the first two estimations the previous 2 days, both involving Mr. Stadel, and we talked about how each day we are building upon the last day and they are going to be related.

2. I do not have a son.  My kids know this.

3. I am 29. 

So at least one student in each of my classes came up to me and asked the same question, “Which one of those is your son? The tall guy or the kid?” 

Ok, fine, you don’t pay attention to the fact that I don’t have a son, that I have a daughter.  I accept that.  Ok, fine, you don’t pay attention to the fact that the previous estimations were with Mr. Stadel, then Mrs. Stadel, and now their son.  I accept that.  Ok, fine, the question on the board says “my” son, not Mr. Stadel’s son because it is HIS website and not MY website.  I accept that you could be confused by that.  BUT REALLY?  That adult is my child?  Thanks kids. 

🙂

Leave a Reply

