#msSunFun- Classroom Management

#msSunFun

I have always felt like classroom management has always been one of my strengths.  Kids who misbehave in other rooms usually don’t have the same problems in my class.  This is DEFINITELY not all kids and DEFINITELY not all of the time.  I am in no way perfect at management and have to work a lot at it.  I think one of my strengths is in understanding middle school kids.  I haven’t always understood them and have had to learn how to relate to them over the last several years, but I feel that my teaching style that I have developed works pretty well with these crazy middle schoolers.  Some things that work well for me:

1.  Listen.  Remember.  Repeat.  When a kid tells you something, listen to them.  They could have told this story to any other adult or kid around you, but they chose YOU.  You might not find it interesting, but THEY do.  A student who knows you care about their personal stuff with care a lot more about you teaching them math.  But you aren’t done yet.  Remember what they told you, ask them about it later, bring it up again. 

2. Create inside jokes with different classes.  (This works especially well if it is a joke about yourself doing something silly.)  Kids like funny things.  It is ok to take a break once in a while and laugh, especially if it is a joke at your expense.  You don’t have to be all business all the time to earn respect.

3. Make your rules known right from the beginning, follow through when you say you will do something, BUT also RELAX!  I don’t know how to state this eloquently.  It is so important to have rules.  Not hidden rules, but clear expectations that you have from the very beginning that do not change based on the day and do not change based on the student and do not change based on if you are having a bad day or not.  Kids do not like when things are unpredictable.  Now for the big BUT… on rare occasions, and you will know when this is appropriate, just chill out on the rules.  Example: kid clearly having a bad day, just came from another teacher yelling at him in the hall, walks in without any materials.  Maybe just today, instead of yelling more at him, instead of giving him a consequence… try leaving him alone for a few minutes, then lend him one of your extra books, a pencil, and a piece of paper.  Without conditions or reminders.  Don’t hand him the paper and say, “just this once, don’t forget to bring your stuff tomorrow.”  Of course, if this is a daily thing, this idea doesn’t work.  We are talking a once time deal here.  But this kid clearly doesn’t need more yelling. 

4. Be fair.  It is worth stating again.  Be fair.  All kids, all situations, even on your bad days.  Kids recognize that you have a favorite that isn’t them really fast.  And it hurts.

5. I read about this a long time ago and I really try to stick with it.  Have the kids come up with their own consequence/compromise/solution whatever it is.  If you can live with it, tell them that, if you can accept part of what they are saying, tell them and have them come up with the rest.  For example: Student doesn’t have his math book today.  Let him choose what the solution is.  He might say, “just don’t do the homework.” My response, “Sorry, I can’t live with that, come up with something else.”  Then he might say, “I will share a book with ______” If you can live with that, tell them.  Or maybe change it to, “You can share, but not with _____ because he is across the room, how about _____ instead.”  (Note that that sentence does not end in a question mark).  Or he might say, “Can I borrow and extra book from you?”  or “Can I go to my locker for a planner signature?”  I am very against learned helplessness.  I feel that too many parents and teachers have solved everything for their kids for too long and now the don’t know what to do without you holding their hands.  It is sad.  Help them to take ownership of the solution and they will feel valued and comfortable with that solution instead of needing to rebel.

6. Laugh at yourself.  It is very tricky to find the balance between I-am-a-professional-and-your-teacher-and-must-be-respected and I-am-a-human.  But you are human.  And so are they. 

7. An extension from the last one… be professional.  Be the adult.  Kids don’t have the same respect for an adult who loves to act like a kid as they do for an adult.

8. Be calm.  Don’t yell.  If you yell all of the time they will learn to tune it out.  Raise your voice and change your tone slightly when it is needed in a serious situation.  When the class gets out of control loud, you being louder just adds to it.  Talk quieter in those situation.  Or sometimes I just stop talking and act out or point to everything I want.  They will stop talking and try to figure out why you are acting so crazy.

Tons of rambling there… hope it made sense to at least one person.  What other classroom management strategies have worked for you?  Join our #msSunFun this week!

5 thoughts on “#msSunFun- Classroom Management

  1. Pingback: Classroom Management – MS Sunday Funday | I Speak Math

  2. This is the BEST classroom management resource I have ever come across. I am teaching 7th grade and am (probably) moving to 8th grade next year, so I will have many of the same students again. I was not the most consistent teacher this year and am hoping with the 3 months in between I can start this right-off-the-bat and have a better year next year. Any other added wisdom in the last year?

  3. Pingback: Madhouse Mondays Classroom Management - Check SheetsDo We Get a Grade for This

Leave a Reply

