Solving One Step Equations

We did a ton of practice with one step equations this week.  I began with a four door foldable, but only had the kids fill out the top two doors on addition and subtraction on the first day.

20121003-143052.jpg

I always have the kids do 2 colors for their notes, one for the problem and one for the work.  This is my attempt to show them what they will be given for the problem vs what they will have to do.  I also feel like the kids are focused a little more simply because they can write in marker and marker is fun!

Then the kids did a pass the equation activity.  I stole this from someone, so if it was you, let me know because I can’t find the original post and want to give you credit!  The first person made up an equation and wrote it on the top of the notecard, then they passed it to person 2 who could only do the inverse operation, then to person 3 who had to solve the problem.  Then they passed back to the owners to grade the problem. 

20121003-105502.jpg

The next day, we did my #made4math equation envelopes activity.  Really, the kids were just practicing solving a bunch of equations, but thinking of the variable like an envelope with the answer hidden inside.  Then they checked their answers with actual envelopes.  Just a little something out of the ordinary instead of me checking for them. 

20121004-102333.jpg     

Then we filled in the last two doors in the foldable, multiplication and division.

20121005-103153.jpg

And finally, my very first tarsia puzzle.  I have been reading so much about these in the blog world.  This tarsia had all 4 operations, and they had to solve the equations and match them up to sides that had the answer.  This went pretty well.  I for sure would do this again for my advanced class, but my other classes struggled more with it.

20121005-103346.jpg

Ready to move on to inequalities next week!

6 thoughts on “Solving One Step Equations

  1. I love the foldable process. But I’m a little dense on what you did. At the top of the foldable is there an equation you are using….or did they just create an example of what that computational step would be? This is so cool.

  2. Sorry to leave another comment, but I am interested in learning more about the envelopes activity. Was the value of “x” inside the envelope? Where was the equation? Again…many thanks for answering.

    • I had a worksheet that had a bunch of equations with pictures of envelopes instead of variables, so they just solved those equations like normal, but then I had envelopes with and answers inside that I gave to them to check their answers. I posted a picture of the worksheet, but now it isn’t showing! I will try again!

Leave a Reply

